UNESCO OWSD PhD fellowships for women

Fellowships for women scientists from Science and Technology Lagging Countries (STLCs) to pursue their PhD in the sciences in another country in the South. Call for Applications 2019 is now open.

Deadline: 30 May 2019
Host country: OWSD countries
Level: PhD
Minimum degree held: MSc
Duration: Up to 4 years
Field: 01-Agricultural Sciences
02-Structural, Cell and Molecular Biology
03-Biological Systems and Organisms
04-Medical and Health Sciences incl. Neurosciences
05-Chemical Sciences
06-Engineering Sciences
08-Mathematical Sciences
Age limit
Sandwich option

The PhD fellowship for women scientists from Science and Technology Lagging Countries (STLCs) supports them to undertake PhD research in the Natural, Engineering and Information Technology sciences at a host institute in the South. The fellowships are to be held at a centre of excellence in a developing country outside the applicant’s own country.

Each fellowship will be offered for up to four years and will cover the following:

  • A monthly allowance to cover basic living expenses such as accommodation and meals while in the host country
  • A special allowance to attend international conferences during the period of the fellowship
  • A return ticket from the home country to the host institute for the agreed research period
  • Visa expenses
  • Annual medical insurance contribution
  • The opportunity to attend regional science communications workshops, on a competitive basis
  • Study fees (including tuition and registration fees) in agreement with the chosen host institute which is also expected to contribute
  • Travel expenses to and from the host institute

For details, please go to the relevant OWSD website: http://owsd.net/career-development/phd-fellowship

Please note that an applicant, at the time of application, must NOT have an active research grant or fellowship with The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) or have already submitted an application for a TWAS programme within the same given year. Only one application per year is possible across all TWAS and OWSD programmes. Applicants will not be eligible to visit another institution in that year under the TWAS Visiting Professor programmes. An exception is made for the OWSD-Elsevier Foundation awards (since applications are submitted by a nominator). In addition, the head of an institution who invites an external scholar to share his/her expertise under the TWAS Visiting Professor programmes may still apply for another programme.

Country where tenable (by subset):
OWSD countries

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.